“Why I Read” needs your support

I hope you all have enjoyed the first two segments of my “Why I Read” docu-series. It was truly a joy speaking with these women and hearing their stories about how reading has not only impacted them professionally, but personally.

I set out to create this documentary because I wanted to understand how we could change the way reading is perceived. What was once promoted as a fun and engaging act that stretched one’s imagination has become a laborious and even humiliating task for some. This docu-series is to examine what causes such harsh feelings toward reading.

As many of you may not know, I am a senior in college. I am majoring in English, and literacy has always been a strong passion of mine. I have worked as a mentor for young children throughout my college experience and they have all inspired me to search for ways to make reading more accessible and enjoyable. This docu-series is the first in that attempt.

Being a full-time college students who also juggles working to pay for housing as well as outrageously expensive textbooks ($200 for a French book) it has been financially challenging to secure all of the materials needed to make a visually appealing documentary. I was able to save and purchase a camera, but it is the lights and audio that help bring the visual aesthetic to life.

My plan is to present this docu-series in it’s entirety not only to the public, upon completion, but to the department of education. With this docu-series I hope to spark the conversation about how reading can be transitioned into something students regard with feelings of joy and wonder.

I created a gofundme to raise money for a light kit, a microphone, and a lens to help me bring a visually appealing narrative to life. If you are unable to donate, I hope that you will assist me in spreading the word about my attempt to help foster literacy and a love for reading in students across the globe.

You can find more information, as well as the first two segments by clicking HERE

Thank You,

Stephanie Fields

Leave a Reply

