Throwback Thursday: TIA Talks

Clearly I have been living under a rock as I am just now bearing witness to the awesomeness of TIA Talks. If you too have been living in the dark ages, allow me to bring you to the light.

TIA Talks are book reviews done by TokenInAmerica. Her blogs and her videos are as hilarious as they are insightful. She has been on a Toni Morrison campaign where she’s tried to read all of Morrison’s novels by the end of 2014 (#ReadMorrison2014), which is enough for me to classify her as my literary best friend.

I was even more overjoyed to find a review on what is probably my favorite (if favorites are allowed) of Toni Morrison’s work, Tar Baby. My mother literally has a box (that I have more or less stolen) of works by Toni Morrison, and after falling in love with Song of Solomon I dived into that box like a ravenous fiend.

I read the book when I was a senior in high school, and though I knew I loved it I was kind of like “Huh?” and I needed to talk to someone about it. To my dismay, no one had read it! My mother, the hoarder of Toni Morrison paraphernalia, couldn’t even remember the novel well enough to engage in an analytical dialogue with me.

I read the book again as a sophomore in college and was able to really sort of sink my teeth into the themes of love, colorism, black femininity, but still had no one to discuss it with. So imagine my excitement when I found this TIA review of the book!

Though short, the review is done in TIA’s eloquent style: discussing the material in a way that is digestible for contemporary 21st century audience.

Check out TokenInAmerica’s review of, Tar Baby, below.

Leave a Reply

